Wanderers weather the storm cloud over Wanderland.

WSW team huddle.
Photo credit KLZ Photography

Round two in the Westfield W-League kicked off with The Western Sydney Wanderers making it two wins from two after a dominant 1-0 win over the Newcastle Jets in a storm interrupted encounter at BankWest Stadium.

In the 31st minute WSW’s Lynn Williams did manage to get the ball in the back of the net but it was deemed offside.

Williams toyed with the young Jets team all game, gliding past them with ease at times. Her footwork and strength to keep the ball were a joy to watch.

Newcastle keeper Claire Coelho made a spectacular save in the first half from Harrison’s effort to keep her team in the game.

Ella Mastrantonio and Amy Harrison were outstanding in the middle of the park whilst the American trio of Lynn Williams, Kristen Hamilton and Denise O’Sullivan ran the Jets ragged.

Teenagers Kyra Cooney-Cross and Courtney Nevin were also strong as the Wanderers gave the home fans plenty to be excited about for this season.

Cooney-Cross and Nevin were able to outmuscle anything in their way tonight as the Wanderers dominated from defence to midfield to forward line.

Harrison scored the winner via the penalty spot in the 58th minute after Clare Wheeler had a handball infringement in the box.

That goal was Harrisons’s first in the W-League in over 5 years! Side note her last goal was against the Jets back then so how about that!

Amy Harrison
Photo credit KLZ Photography

Wanderers Manager Dean Heffernan will be disappointed his team didn’t win by more but will be pleased at the 100% start to the season.

WSW Manager Dean Heffernan
Photo credit KLZ Photography

Round 3 will see Wanderers travel to Brisbane on Thursday night in what will be a tough test.

Brisbane went down 3-2 at home Thursday night to Melbourne Victory in a classic.

Newcastle on the other hand will host Canberra United.

Western Sydney Wanderers 1

Newcastle Jets 0

WSW: Smith (GK), Halloway (C), Huynh, Staab, Nevin, Harrison, O’Sullivan, Mastrantonio, Cooney-Cross, Williams, Hamilton

Newcastle : Coelho (GK), Brewer, Davis, Simon (C), Andrews, Copus-Brown, Tamplin, Kingsley, Wheeler, Flannery, Collister.

Written by Janakan Seemampillai , published by Tanner Coad.